Pixar Movie Workout 1: Toy Story

As you may know, I have been training for the Eugene Half-Marathon in May. Part of my training plan is to do more weight and resistance training. That is usually my initial plan and then I completely drop it and end up just running. I am determined not to do that this time around.

At the same time, I am also somewhat self-conscious about doing body weight workouts at the gym. The gym I go to doesn’t have a lot of space for that because they have more weight training machines. Plus, I really do not like using the gym mats there. As a result, I decided to try to do more workouts at home.

I am a lover of movie workouts especially because I am a couch potato at heart. If you haven’t done a movie workout before it is fairly simple:

  1. Write out the exercises that you would like to do during the “workout” session. I tend to pick just four to six different exercises because with a movie workout repetition becomes more important than the different types of exercises you do.
  2. Tie about two to four things that might happen in the movie to each workout. For example, in Toy Story, every time Buzz says, ” To infinity and beyond,” I have to do ten sit-ups.
  3. Keep in mind that the more movie events or character appearances you put below each exercise the more you will be moving during the movie.
  4. You can target specific areas like a core workout by choosing only core exercises or putting more of the events under a core exercise than under a leg exercise.
  5. I usually only do the exercise once per scene, so if the aliens were to appear in a scene and then stay in the scene for four more minutes, I wouldn’t have to keep doing the exercise. I would just do the exercise once and then do it again when they appear in a different scene.
  6. The final rule is always to have fun and to remember that if a workout is too strenuous, you definitely can just set a time limit. Often, I just do 45-60 minutes of a movie workout, because I am pretty tired by then.

Now, to make things more geeky I decided to add a theme to the movie workouts I create. I wanted to run through the Pixar movies in order to give myself an extra challenge. As a result, our first movie workout that I created is for Toy Story.

IMG_0344

If you feel inspired then I definitely recommend creating your own movie workout, or if you are looking for a fun, full body workout, feel free to follow the one that I made.

Toy Story Movie Workout-4

 

Disclaimer: I am in no way a physician, and would recommend consulting your physician before doing any workout program. If you participate in any exercise or exercise program, you could get injured.  If you engage in this exercise or exercise program, you agree that you do so at your own risk, are voluntarily participating in these activities, assume all risk of injury to yourself, and agree to release and discharge luvrundisney.wordpress.com from any and all claims or causes of action, known or unknown, arising out of luvrundisney.wordpress.com’s negligence.
Leave a Reply

