Whole 30 Challenge: Day 0

Okay, it is time to get real. Do people even say that anymore? Either way, I have been posting a mostly Disney-related posts for ages now and a lot less on the running side. There is probably a reason for that: I have completely fallen off of the “healthy” wagon. In fact, that wagon seems to have taken a sharp turn, and I tumbled out over a ravine.

orgtr

All that said, I have managed to get a foot-hold and hope to catch back up to my old, healthy ways. Usually when something like this happens I lean more toward restricting calories and counting my food intake. This time around, I thought that I  would look  more at the types of food that I eat. In any diet that I have done, I have never cut out gluten, corn, sugar, even fake sugar, dairy, or beans. I actually tend to live off of rice and beans, so this may be a real challenge for me, but I am ready to take it on.

IMG_3720

First off why Whole 30:

  • I really need to jumpstart my healthy habits, because recently I feel like I am waking up everyday from a sugar and carb hangover.
  • I am really tired all the time, and I can’t figure out quite why.
  • I really need to lose weight to make sure I can be the healthiest version of myself.
  • Finally, I feel like I am really ready to challenge myself, and I am interested to find out what foods may actually be making me feel worse.

If you haven’t ever heard of Whole 30, here is a quick description of the program:

  • NO Processed Foods
  • NO Grains
  • NO Legumes (including Soy)
  • NO Dairy
  • NO Sugar
  • NO Peanuts
  • NO Alcohol
  • NO unhealthy attitudes toward food
  • NO Cheating

9051500149_b10361cc7c_o

At this point you may be asking what you can actually eat on this…

  • Organic Veggies (including all potatoes…just not chips)
  • Organic Fruits
  • Healthy Fats/Oils
  • Tree Nuts and Seeds
  • Free Range, Hormone Free, and/or Grass Feed Meat
  • Free Range Eggs
  • Coffee, tea, kombucha, water, soda water

When I first heard about this, I really was skeptical, because (with the exception of Alcohol, which I don’t drink) most of my food comes from the banned items. That said, after learning more and more about it, I became really interested in getting the opportunity to learn more about my body and what types of foods are good for me.

The whole idea of this is to take away all possible general food allergies and types of food that change your hormones, or hurt your digestion. Then they help you to reintroduce these foods after thirty days so that you can really learn about what foods are good for you and what aren’t.

This is also a life change and a decision to eat more whole foods rather than processed and to change my behavior about food. Normally I eat when I am sad, happy, bored, or hungry. Now, I really need to focus on only eating when I am hungry.

51w4zhsnzvl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

I really suggest reading more about it if you are interested. The first book, It Starts with Food, is a great introduction to the theories behind this.

For Day 0, I will be prepping a lot of the food that I will be eating throughout the week. I thought that I would take you along with me as I work through these 30 days. Apparently, it is supposed to be an emotional whirlwind… so hold on!

IMG_1981

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

