Running Update #2: Portland Expo Day

Sorry for the delay in posting, but I was surprisingly busy at work and extremely tired from the half-marathon on Sunday. Now, I am recuperated and ready to share all the fun times we had last weekend. It all started Friday morning when I got a chance to try my new hand creme…

IMG_3148

I was definitely getting a very fall vibe with the crisp weather returning. I got a chance to wear all of the knitted things I own, and we headed out to breakfast before the expo.

IMG_3160

If you are ever in the Portland area, you should definitely try Slappy Cakes. It is a fun restaurant and creates pretty fabulous pancakes. The premise behind it is that you get to make your own. you sit at a griddle with your table mates and get to flip your own flapjacks. Now, I know that I can make pancakes at home, but their batter is AMAZING (especially the peanut butter), they provide tons of fabulous mix-ins and toppings, and you don’t have to wash up. That last part may be the most important thing for me!

IMG_3149

IMG_3151

Every time we come here we get more and more adventurous with the types of pancake shapes we make. I was pretty proud of the Tribute to Oregon pancake I made (yes, that is the full pancake title) in the shape of the state. I decorated from blueberries, nuts, and bananas. Delish!

IMG_3155

Andy was not to be outdone by me though and made one in the shape of a house.

IMG_3158

I think my favorite pancake though had to be the cat face I tried to make. While it didn’t completely work out, it is the thought that counts.

IMG_3157

After our pancake adventure, we headed over to the Portland Marathon Expo to pick up our bibs. Since this was our first big race, neither Andy nor I had ever been to an expo. I had read about the Disney ones on the various other blogs I follow, so I had a general idea. Unfortunately I think that the Disney expos have to be much larger than normal, because the Portland one definitely seemed smaller.

IMG_3164

There were a few shoe stores and clothing vendors there along with people giving food samples, but there really weren’t a ton. I was not interested in buying Portland Marathon Half gear before the race in the event that for some reason I didn’t finish. I have to apologize that this is really the only picture that I took of the whole expo, because there just wasn’t a lot there. I did take a pick of the starting corrals and the finishing area.

IMG_3165

IMG_3167

While the expo left a bit to be desired, we did decide to walk around downtown to find our starting area as well as to take a look at where we would be finishing. At this point I got really excited about the race and could actually start to visualize finishing. Below is a picture of the finishing area…

IMG_3170

That night we finished our last run before the race. I took it pretty easy to make sure that I could have fresh legs for the race. I really couldn’t believe that we actually made it to race day!

IMG_3173

Leave a Reply

